Zis-N-Zat From Pastor Asher

God is my conscience, Jesus lives in my heart… this blog is about what I see, what I think, what I do and how I serve God

Happy Thanksgiving!

In my mind, Thanksgiving is a lot like Holy Communion. Now I want to make it clear: I am NOT equating the two. Holy Communion is a sacrament; Thanksgiving is a secular holiday. But there are things about Thanksgiving that do remind me of Holy Communion.

When we celebrate the sacrament of the Holy Communion, we come to the Table and we reflect on what it means to be a Christian and what it means to be saved and what it means to have a personal Savior, mentor, leader, and teacher in the person of Jesus.

At Thanksgiving we also come to the table; different table but a table none the less.  At that table we share a meal and we reflect on what it means to be an American and what it means to be free. And the way I understand Thanksgiving, there is ONE gigantic table, with countless people sitting at it and sharing a meal together: men and women, children and adults, healthy and frail, poor and rich, black and white, yellow and red. An investment banker from New York is seated next to a truck stop waitress from Montana. An Iowa farmer exchanges stories with a New England fisherman. A bearded professor from Harvard passes the gravy to a bearded auto mechanic from the sticks of Nebraska. A young soldier from Kentucky laughs at a joke an old lady from California tells him. And this gigantic table stretches far into the distance, from the Atlantic Ocean to the Pacific Ocean, from the Canadian border to the southern border with Mexico. People from all states and all regions of our great country have found their seats and enjoy their meal at the same time. At this table, the barriers that we built to separate us are removed. Our whole nation sits down for a single meal. This dinner is shared in the homes of the wealthy, middle class and the poor. It takes place in soup kitchens and in suburban restaurants and diners; it happens with stuffy formality and with casual folksiness.

On this one Thursday afternoon each year, we all put our differences aside and we come together to celebrate God’s blessings in our lives. On this one Thursday afternoon we all share in conversation with each other, and on this one Thursday afternoon we are truly what our founding fathers envisioned – One Nation Under GOD.

May God Bless our fellowship and may God Bless America.

Thanksgiving Prayer

Loving and Gracious God!

When I have food, help me to remember the hungry; When I have work, help me to remember the jobless; When I have warm home and a pillow to sleep on, help me to remember those who have no home at all.

When I am without pain, help me to remember those who suffer.

In my remembering, awaken my compassion and destroy my complacency; make me concerned enough to help those who cry out for what I take for granted not only in word but also in action.

Amen.

~~ Author unknown

 

Leave a Reply

