Zis-N-Zat From Pastor Asher

God is my conscience, Jesus lives in my heart… this blog is about what I see, what I think, what I do and how I serve God

A note to introduce myself to the community of Kingswood United Methodist Church

To the Congregation of Kingswood United Methodist Church,

The purpose of this post is to introduce myself to the community of Kingswood United Methodist Church. 

Effective July 1, 2015 I am sent by Bishop Johnson and the Cabinet of the Peninsula-Delaware Conference to serve the community of Kingswood United Methodist Church.  I look forward to meeting all of you, learning your stories, and sharing our faith. I look forward to the shared part of our ministry and lives’ journeys.

You would probably like to know a little about me.  I was born and raised as an atheist in the former Soviet Union. Ethnically I am Jewish. My family and I immigrated to the United States almost 35 years ago.

I realized that God exists one day in September 1985 while driving on I-295 near West Deptford, NJ. For me it was a great surprise, and this realization shook everything that I believed to be right, true and beautiful.

In 1989 I had a blind date with my future wife, Debbie; we will be celebrating 25 years of marriage later this year.

I received my call to ministry while in a Disciple Bible Study in October‑November 1997. I was sent to serve my first appointment as a student pastor in 2003. Since that time I completed my theological education in Lancaster Theological Seminary, took two units of Clinical Pastoral Education from Christiana Care and have done several special projects (chaplaincy, mission trips, outreach, etc).

I love Jesus. With all of his life Jesus showed that God did not create us to grovel in the grime of our sins. Jesus lived and taught among us; Jesus has shown us that we are capable being the best version of what God created us to be (John 10:10). Throughout His ministry here on Earth and through the promptings of the Holy Spirit, Jesus encourages us to do that.

I love the Church and especially the United Methodist Church. While all of us are imperfect and every church community has a unique personality, as the Church Universal we are the body of Christ, redeemed by his blood and sent out by the Holy Spirit to be tools of love and reconciliation in God’s world.

I am grateful and eager for the opportunity that God has blessed me with to share in ministry with all of you.  I know that the congregation of Kingswood United Methodist Church has a strong identity and tradition in mission, outreach and involvement in the community in which it lives. I realize what a great responsibility it is to be a pastor of such a vibrant community.

I have no doubt in my mind that God is active in the world in which we live and I know that when we are with God all things are possible. I look forward to working with all of you as we discern God’s will for our church family, and the ways in which we can continue to serve God by serving the world in which we live. 

My contact information is available from the Kingswood UMC church office.

Philos

Asher

2 responses to “A note to introduce myself to the community of Kingswood United Methodist Church

  1. Karen 3 July 2015 at 1:13 pm

    Wishing you all the best in your new community. Your friends at Shelemiah UMC will be praying for you, Debbie, and your church family.

  2. pastorasher 3 July 2015 at 1:43 pm

    Thanx Karen! We need all the prayers we can get!

Leave a Reply

