Zis-N-Zat From Pastor Asher

God is my conscience, Jesus lives in my heart… this blog is about what I see, what I think, what I do and how I serve God

From the Desk of Pastor Asher; Working Towards Sunday; 28 June 2015;

AVATAR

A Note for Congregations of Worton and Christ United Methodist Churches

June 28, 2015 will be the last Sunday that I have the privilege to be your pastor. I give glory to God and I thank God for this privilege and for the relationships that Debbie and I have developed with all of you. Here are few random thoughts that I would like to share in my last pastoral reflection for the communities of Worton and Christ United Methodist Churches.

A long time ago I realized that everybody yearns to be on “top of the mountain” because we expect that we will be happy there. I also realized that “mountaintop” experiences are fleeting, and that happiness is obtained during the journey that takes us there, as we travel through the valleys and deal with the challenges of the journey. Have faith, enjoy the journey… Support and uplift each other in deeds and prayers.

Humans can’t read minds, and no one can know your secret thoughts. I pray that we all have the courage and wisdom to express our thoughts and hopes in a respectful and constructive manner. When we verbalize our hopes and dreams, they become real and attainable. That is when we gain a deeper understanding of who we are in relationship to God and to each other, and that truth sets us free for the journey towards the “top of the next mountain.”

There is a song with lyrics that say, “I believe I can fly, I believe I can touch the sky…” I hope that your church family will become a place where everyone feels free to dream, to spread their wings, and feel encouraged to soar.

Tomorrow is not guaranteed to anyone, whether individually or as a community. Stay in love with the Lord, nurture your relationships with each other, gather together often and invite your neighbors to join you. I hope that you will celebrate many achievements and milestones in the future.

A long time ago, when I received my first appointment to serve a local church as a student pastor, Rev. John Mitchell told me, “There is no better way to spend one’s life than to serve the Lord.” This is true for all of us, laity and clergy. Stay in love with Jesus, be diligent about discerning the guidance of the Holy Spirit and continue serving God by serving the world in which you live.

Philos

Asher

One response to “From the Desk of Pastor Asher; Working Towards Sunday; 28 June 2015;

  1. Karen 23 June 2015 at 12:38 pm

    very true. and such a positive attitude.

Leave a Reply

