Zis-N-Zat From Pastor Asher

God is my conscience, Jesus lives in my heart… this blog is about what I see, what I think, what I do and how I serve God

From the Desk of Pastor Asher; Thinking Towards Sunday

It’s difficult for me to write about Fathers’ Day because I did not have a chance to spend any meaningful time with my earthly father; I have no point of reference. That, however, does not preclude me from recognizing the importance that fathers and father-figures (teachers, mentors, coaches) play in our lives, and in preparing the future generations to face the challenges of life.

The truth is that not all of us are blessed with nurturing earthly fathers. That, however, does not limit the fact that as Christians we also know our Heavenly Father whose love knows no bounds, who stands ready to forgive us and to correct us when we misbehave, and who welcomes us back to our spiritual homes (our church communities) when we make a choice to come back. Today, as we honor our earthly fathers of this and past generations, let us give glory and honor to our Heavenly Father for his presence and involvement in our lives.

One of the most poignant and well known stories of fatherhood in the Bible is the parable of the Prodigal Son (Luke 15:11-22). This parable tells a story of a loving father waiting for the return of his strong-willed, disrespectful and disobedient child with the patience and longing of a saint. The Father’s response to the prodigal’s reckless and immature behavior catches us off guard with its generosity, compassion and understanding. Not only did the father in the parable offers his love to his Prodigal Son, he also offers it to his other son who feels slighted, hurt and sulks at the reception that his brother received. This parable gives us a glimpse of fatherhood as a reflection of God’s generosity and understanding.

Fatherhood is not for wimps. I thank God for all the men who are loving husbands and responsible fathers to their families. I also pray for men who have not taken their fatherhood as seriously as they should.

Happy Father’s Day!

Leave a Reply

