Zis-N-Zat From Pastor Asher

God is my conscience, Jesus lives in my heart… this blog is about what I see, what I think, what I do and how I serve God

Very Approximate Notes for the Sermon that was delivered at First UMC on June 7, 2015

Scriptures for this Sunday: 1 Peter 3:15-22;1 Samuel 16:7

You can read these Scriptures here: NIV and ESV

{Illustration}

clip_image002

I’d like to build the world a home

And furnish it with love

Grow apple trees and honey bees and

snow-white turtle doves.

I’d like to teach the world to sing

In perfect harmony

I’d like to hold it in my arms and

keep it company.

Catchy jingle… It sounds happy and the words are inspiring. When I hear it, I want to sing along. I cannot listen to this song without a smile.

This song was used in the Coca Cola “Hilltop” commercial from the 1970s.

clip_image004

{Illustration – What Made it Work?}

{Illustration – Rewrite? Write a new song}

clip_image006

{Illustration. Our church has struggles.}

1) Our Struggles are not based on a dark secret

2) As a Church, as a body of Christ, we have struggles

3) As individual churches we have struggles

I know that we will get through these struggles. I know that we will figure out the answers to our problems because we’ve done it in the past. The Church has always faced problems. The reason the Church has survived for the last 2000 years is because there were always problems that we had to figure out and that made us work together, and working together made us stronger. “When two or three gather together, I am with them…” (Matthew 18:20).

We are looking at two churches coming to work together and we are asking for God’s blessing on that endeavor.

clip_image008

We are standing at the threshold of something new. We are about to write a new song. Today I want to ask you, what will your song be? Will we just change a few words in a song that is already written?

clip_image010

I’d like to sing the world a song

of perfect Love and Grace

How faith can bring abundant life

and meaning to our days.

Will we just change a few words in the Coca Cola song? Will we write a new melody? Will we completely rewrite the words and make something new? We don’t know. We have to go through the next period of our lives and at the end there will be a song because we cannot go through this process without coming face to face with God… So what will our next song be? Time will tell….

clip_image012

Go write a song and may God bless your journey… Notice, I did not say “we will write a song”; I said “go write a song.” Pastor Tonya and I have worked to prepare the field and to bring you to this point. In few days Pastor Tonya will go south to St. Michaels, I will go north to Newark and you will start a new stage of your journey with Pastor David.

{Illustration: You are ready, you may not know all the answers yet, but you are prepared and ready to figure out those answers …}

{Transition to the Sacrament of the Holy Communion}

Leave a Reply

