Zis-N-Zat From Pastor Asher

God is my conscience, Jesus lives in my heart… this blog is about what I see, what I think, what I do and how I serve God

Happy Easter! Thinking Towards Sunday….

The events of the first Easter morning are the foundation of our Christian identity. On Easter morning, more than any other day of the year, we celebrate the living Christ who is with us and among us.

In the letter to Galatians chapter 2, Paul writes, “20 I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. I do not set aside the grace of God, for if righteousness could be gained through the law, Christ died for nothing!” (NIV2010).

On this Holy Day, I think it is important to ask ourselves, “Are we keeping Christ alive in our lives?” For a person to be alive implies that that person is alert and animated, is aware of his/her surroundings, that he/she has interests, and is striving for meaning (or understanding) of what is happening around them.

Could we use these verbs from the previous sentence (alert, animated, aware of, active, being interested, striving to understand, searching for meaning) to describe our relationship with Jesus? In other words, how does Jesus’ life, death, and resurrection manifest itself in us as we live our daily lives?

The contemporary Christian Group Third Day sings about becoming alive in Christ. Here are the lyrics to the first stanza of their song “Born Again”:

“Well today I found myself, after searching for all these years.
And the man that I saw, wasn’t at all who I thought he’d be.
I was lost when you found me here. I was broken beyond repair.
Then you came along and you sang a song over me.

It feels like I’m born again. It feels like I’m living.
For the very first time, I’m living for the first time.
It feels like I’m breathing. It feels like I’m moving.
For the very first time; I’m living for the first time, in my life.”

To me these lyrics describe what it means to be alive in Christ: it is a process of discovery, surprise at what we find, search for meaning and personal growth. John Wesley called that process a journey towards perfection.

This Easter Sunday, as we celebrate the Holy Communion, as we experience the real presence of our Living Savior, I hope and pray that all of us will find the courage to let Christ live in us. Let his life, death, and resurrection manifest themselves not only on Sunday morning but also in our daily lives as well.

How enthusiastic and sincere are you when you hear, “Christ is Risen” and reply, “Christ is Risen, INDEED!”

Leave a Reply

