Zis-N-Zat From Pastor Asher

God is my conscience, Jesus lives in my heart… this blog is about what I see, what I think, what I do and how I serve God

From the Desk of Pastor Asher

NLT Ephesians 2: 10 For we are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago.

A Masterpiece is a work of art that communicates the artist’s personal experience and understanding across generations, cultures and times. What separates a masterpiece from an “ordinary” work of art is its ability to expand our minds and help us to experience the presence of the Holy around us and in our own lives.

Yesterday I shared with you that because of my life’s path, I was privileged to experience some of the world’s literary, musical and visual masterpieces. I also shared with you that as a young man I was always surprised how ordinary and unremarkable these works of art seemed to be. As I grow older, I begin to wonder whether there is such a thing as an “ordinary” work of art – I am beginning to see all things as God’s “Masterpieces.”  (Here is a link to yesterday’s devotion)

That brings me to us – you and I. When I look in the mirror, I do not see a masterpiece. The reason I do not see a masterpiece is because I know every one of my deepest thoughts and inclinations and I know that I am a fallen human being. In Romans 3:10, Paul wrote, “There is no one righteous, not even one….” I can relate to that.

So how do I reconcile the idea that I – and every one of you – are God’s masterpiece (Eph 2:10)? While reading War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy I am not consciously thinking that I am reading a masterpiece, I am just enjoying a good book. What makes Mona Lisa (remember her smile?) by Leonardo a masterpiece is her seemingly reflective peace and calm, as if she is saying to us that there are forces of nature and then there is God (“Be still and know that I am God…” Psalm 46:10).

Just like that, when we see ourselves in the mirror we are looking at ourselves through our human eyes. When God looks at us, God sees possibilities and potential. God’s hope for each one of us is that we will strive to be the best we can be, the best version of what God created, and is still creating/molding (UMH 883), us to be, and that we make the choice to be in a relationship with God.

“I can do all thing through Christ who strengthens me” (Phil 4:13). When we are with God, all things are possible.

Leave a Reply

