Zis-N-Zat From Pastor Asher

God is my conscience, Jesus lives in my heart… this blog is about what I see, what I think, what I do and how I serve God

From the Desk of Pastor Asher

NLT Ephesians 2: 10 For we are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago.

A Masterpiece is a work of art that communicates the artist’s personal experience and understanding across generations, cultures and times. What separates a masterpiece from an “ordinary” work of art, what makes it stand out is its ability to expand our minds and help us to experience the presence of the Holy around us and in our own lives.

I have been blessed to see quite a few works of art that are considered to be masterpieces. As a young man I was always surprised how ordinary and unremarkable these works of art seem to be. While reading War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy I was never conscious that I was reading a masterpiece. While looking at Pieta by Michelangelo the thought never crossed my mind that I was looking at a masterpiece; I simply saw a moment in the life of a young woman holding her son who was tragically killed, and I was moved by that experience. The longer I live, the more I wonder if there is such a thing as an “ordinary” work of art.

We are God’s masterpiece. God created us in God’s own image with the ability to love, feel, appreciate beauty and experience emotions. Like any work of art that is in the process of being created, we are pliable in God’s hands. Our job is to allow God to mold us into the best version of what God has created, and is creating, us to be (UMH 883).

God has a vision for each of our lives. While we are not puppets or marionettes in his hands, we are called to serve our Creator by serving the world in which we live. Through our life’s experiences God is shaping and preparing us for God’s service.

Each of us is a unique and wondrous creation, a “Masterpiece” of God who loves us. We do not need to force our own plans or agendas. We do not need to compare our individual accomplishments with those of our friends and neighbors. Instead, we need to listen for God’s guidance on our lives.

When we are with God, all things are possible.

Leave a Reply

