Zis-N-Zat From Pastor Asher

God is my conscience, Jesus lives in my heart… this blog is about what I see, what I think, what I do and how I serve God

What is the difference between God calling us to action and wishful thinking on our part? Thinking Towards Sunday; 28 September 2014

NIV2010 John 15: 5 “I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.”

~~ Jesus

How do we discern the difference between God communicating with us and wishful thinking on our part? Countless generations of Christians have struggled with this question.

All of us have a tendency to justify our wishes. Simply speaking, a wish is a combination of hope and an intent. We wish for something when there is a problem or a situation that we want to resolve. A wish seeks guidance, direction, knowledge, and assistance. Wishes are like requests. Very often we direct our wishes to God because we tend to think of God as a vending machine that grants wishes when we press just the “right” buttons or say the “right” words.

There is a difference between God calling us to action and our wishful thinking. If and when we want something, it is tempting to think that God wishes the same thing for us. That is a process of justifying our thinking.

The litmus test that differentiates between wishful thinking and the Holy Spirit challenging us to be the best version of what God created us to be is the answer to a simple question: who will our actions glorify? When the actions we want to take will result in elevation of our status, that it is probably wishful thinking on our part. On the other hand, God’s communication shines the light on God’s Creation and results in us being a blessing to others.

Prayer:

Loving and gracious God!

I pray that the mind of Christ (Phil 2:5) be in me, guide me daily, and help me to discern wishful thinking on my part from your guidance on my life.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

