Zis-N-Zat From Pastor Asher

God is my conscience, Jesus lives in my heart… this blog is about what I see, what I think, what I do and how I serve God

When I say “I am a Christian”… Thinking towards Sunday

by Carol Wimmer

When I say, “I am a Christian,”
I’m not shouting, “I’ve been saved!”
I’m whispering,
“I get lost! That’s why I chose this way.”

When I say, “I am a Christian,”
I don’t speak with human pride.
I’m confessing that I stumble –
needing God to be my guide.

When I say, “I am a Christian,”
I’m not trying to be strong.
I’m professing that I’m weak and
pray for strength to carry on.

When I say, “I am a Christian,”
I’m not bragging of success.
I’m admitting that I’ve failed and
cannot ever pay the debt.

When I say, “I am a Christian,”
I don’t think I know it all.
I submit to my confusion
asking humbly to be taught.

When I say, “I am a Christian,”
I’m not claiming to be perfect.
My flaws are far too visible
but God believes I’m worth it.

When I say, “I am a Christian,”
I still feel the sting of pain.
I have my share of heartaches
which is why I seek God’s name.

When I say, “I am a Christian,”
I am not holier than anyone else.
I am just a simple sinner
who received God’s grace somehow.

When I say, “I am a Christian,”
I do not wish to judge.
I have no authority,
I only know I’m loved.

Here is a link to Carol Wimmer’s website

Here is a link to Snopes website

 

One response to “When I say “I am a Christian”… Thinking towards Sunday

  1. Carol Wimmer 4 April 2013 at 6:32 pm

    Thank you for posting the original poem with a link to my website and a link to snopes.com. The newspaper article is a copyright infringement as it is an unauthorized derivative of the original. Images for legal sharing on social media are located at http://www.facebook.com/whenisayiamachristian

Leave a Reply

