Zis-N-Zat From Pastor Asher

God is my conscience, Jesus lives in my heart… this blog is about what I see, what I think, what I do and how I serve God

Another Article about Stages of Faith

(Reprint from http://www.janethagberg.com/critical_journey/index.htm; to make it easier for me  to find in a future)


Stages of Faith and Spiritual Formation

A work in process: Janet Hagberg

We need all the stages of faith for full spiritual formation

The six stages of faith and the Wall that are highlighted in The Critical Journey are all important in our spiritual journey. Each one has a profound impact and role in our lives. For instance,

  • Stage One humbles us
  • Stage Two grounds us
  • Stage Three rewards us
  • Stage Four unsettles us
  • the Wall unmasks us
  • Stage Five transforms us
  • Stage Six transcends us

More about the Stages

So in using this guide, bear in mind that each stage is active in us and even though our “home” stage is at one of the stages, we need the other stages for the gifts they bring us as well. Our home stage is the stage at which we are residing at this time, where we spend more of our time and energy at this point in our lives.

An example of the intermingling of stages is a person whose home stage is Stage Four and for whom the questions are more prevalent than the answers. Although the sureness of Stage Two is elusive at this time, the sense of belonging and community that Stage Two represents is still vital to a person at Stage Four since too much isolation at this stage can stunt the journey.

The same activity may have a different effect at each stage of faith

The following suggestions for spiritual formation are designed to support people at each of the home stages. The idea is to present things that will support them at their current stage and give them a glimpse of the next stage that is developing within them.

The suggestions for each stage are not intended to imply that the same activities do not work for people at other home stages, only that the impact will be felt more deeply for the person at that stage. For instance, walking the labyrinth may be awe inspiring at Stage One, devotional at Stage Two, a spiritual accomplishment at Stage Three, a visceral and compelling experience at Stage Four, a brokenness/healing experience at the Wall, and a spiritually intimate experience at Stages Five and Six.

The developmental aspect of the stages

While we are able to access isolated experiences and ideas from each stage, even those stages that are farther along on the journey, we are able to fully integrate only our current home stage and those stages through which we have passed. The stage directly ahead of us is enticing and challenging. However, those stages that are two ahead of our current home stage seem too unusual, undesirable or difficult to be accessible.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: